American Association of Cosmetology Schools » Educator of the Year

Educator of the Year

What is the N.F. Cimaglia Educator of the Year Award?

The annual N.F. Cimaglia Educator of the Year Award is co-sponsored by the American Association of Cosmetology Schools and Milady. It is a prestigious award given to one educator each year who has exhibited the most significant contribution toward upgrading professional standards of educational excellence, particularly within the areas of student involvement during the immediate past year.

Who Qualifies?

Nominees must be members of CEA who are currently employed, have at least three years of active employment as a cosmetology educator and can provide evidence of significant contributions to educational excellence during the immediate past year. While Milady is proud to be the primary sponsor of this award, it is not required for nominees to teach using Milady-based curriculum in their school.  ALL INSTRUCTORS from ALL SCHOOLS are welcome to apply as long as they meet the aforementioned criteria.

What is the Prize?

The recipient will receive a complimentary CEA Annual Convention registration, roundtrip airfare and lodging for the convention, $2,500 cash and other prizes courtesy of Milady.

2018 Educator of the Year Winner

David Jones-Estrella
Hollywood Institute of Beauty Careers
Orlando, FL

Past Winners

2017 – Shannon Cousineau
2016 – Ida McLean
2015 – Deanna Beaver
2014 – Wendi Ingalls
2013 – Kathy Emery
2012 – Melea Blakely
2011 – Patti Black
2010 – Jacqueline Munoz
2009 – Marcia Bird
2008 – Laura Wallman
2007 – Wendy Spangler
2006 – Danny Austin
2005 – Myssi Goldsmith
2004 – Melony Gaudlip
2003 – Lisa Galloway
2002 – Edith Hall
2001 – Iraida Nieves
2000 – Laureida Smith
1999 – Jonathon Nupp
1998 – Tammy Hingtgen
1997 – Kathy Stubblefield
1996 – Fran Brown
1995 – Jerri Dillingham